For Azeroth: Blizzcon News on World of Warcraft: Legion

Posted on November 7, 2015 by Renee Gittins


If you missed out on Blizzcon’s Legion World and Content Overview panel, here’s a summary of the information and images.



  • Third Burning Legion invasion of Azeroth
  • Gul’dan sent back to Azeroth


  • Kil’Jaeden gifts Gul’dan with the knowledge of the Burning Legion
  • Gul’dan sent to the Broken Isles, where he finds and breaks open the wards of the Tomb of Sargeras, opening a gateway for the Burning Legion to start its largest ever invasion of Azeroth



Broken Shore

  • Ground zero for the Legion invasion
  • 40 person scenario, 20 Horde and 20 Alliance working in unison
  • Story catch-up and kick-off for the expansion
  • Results in a world changed by your heroics
  • Searching for the Pillars of Creation to close the massive portal in the Tomb of Sargeras


Demon Hunter

  • Starts at level 98
  • Illidan sends you to invade a demon world, Mardum, as the forces of Shattrath approach Black Temple
  • Mardum
    • Former prison world for demons created by Sargeras and his Sargerei Keystone while he was good
    • Shattered by Sargeras when he turned evil
    • On one of the shards the Sargerei Keystone is guarded by Sargeras’ most trusted demons


  • New Legion line-up
    • More powerful versions of existing demons
    • All new terrifying demonds
      • The Imp Mother
      • Jailer
      • Inquisitor
  • Fight Fire with Fire
    • Use the Legion’s devices against them
    • Interact with crystals that reduce some of your ability cooldowns to 0
    • Learn new spells as you go by ripping the power out of the demons themselves
  • Felsaber mount


  • Imprisoned by Maiev Shadowsong in the Vault of the Wardens upon completion of your mission and your return to Black Temple
  • Second half of the Demon Hunter intro takes place in the Vault of the Wardens as you break out to save the world from the Legion
  • After intro:
    • Integrate with your faction by traveling to Stormwind or Orgrimmar
    • Establish class Order Hall on Mardum
    • Quest for your own warglaives



Broken Isles

  • 10,000 years ago, before the Sundering, was part of Suramar, a high elf empire




  • Densely forested druidic paradise
  • Emerald Nightmare is consuming massive parts of the zone
  • Heart of Druidism, where Malfurion met Cenarius
  • Contains the tainted remains of Shaladrassil, a world tree
  • Black Rook Hold, haunted fortress from the War of the Ancients
  • Meet three key Arch Druids
  • Fight Satyr and Nightmare Dragons



  • Stronghold of the Vyrkul, who left Northrend well before the events of Wrath of the Lich King
  • Compete against the Vyrkul God King, Skovald, who seeks access to the Halls of Valhalla and has joined sides with the Legion
  • Dig into the origins of the Kvaldir and the Valkyr
  • Contains two dungeons: Helheim and the Halls of Valor
  • Mystic Vyrkul, religious zealots that use rune magic
  • New dragonflight: Storm Dragons




  • Zone devastated by Queen Ashara before the Sundering
  • Refuge for the remnants of the Blue Dragonflight
  • Home to the Vault of the Wardens
  • The land and people still suffer from a terrible curse
  • Queen Ashara has sent her elite Naga forces to recover a relic from the lands



  • Domain of three ancient Tauren clans, directly descended from those that fought in the War of the Ancients, Rivermane, Skyhorn, Bloodtotem
  • Drogbar, cave dwelling shamans who were enslaved by Neltharion (Deathwing), are fighting the Tauren to rule Highmountain




  • The city of Suramar remains a thriving elven metropolis, as the city was protected and saved by the city’s mages and a pure arcane well, the Nightwell
  • The elves within Suramar are now dependant on the Nightwell, an abused and corrupted powersource that shrouds the city in darkness
  • The elves corrupted by the Nightwell are now known as the Nightborne and have aligned themselves with the Legion
  • Those banned from the city are known as the Nightfallen and are twisted, withered versions of the Nightborne



  • Coming later, much like Tanaan Jungle



  • Emerald Nightmare
    • 7 boss raid
    • Located in Val’sharah
    • Ascend Shaladrassil and enter the Nightmare
    • First boss is a corrupted dragon
    • Second boss is Cenarius, corrupted by the Nightmare
    • Xavius, the Satyr, in the form he has chosen
  • Suramar Palace
    • 10 boss raid
    • Gul’dan’s base of operations
    • Center of the Nightborne civilization
    • Majestic elven dungeon
    • Gul’dan is the final boss of the raid


    • 10 dungeons
    • Level-up dungeons, flexible scaling
      • Eye of Azshara
      • Neltharion’s Lair
      • Halls of Valor
      • Darkheart Thicket
      • Violet Hold
    • Max level dungeons
      • Vault of the Wardens
      • Black Rook Hold
      • Helheim
      • Suramar Noble District
      • Suramar Catacombs
    • Dungeons scale in rewards and difficulty
    • Challenger’s Keystone (Dungeon Challenge Mode)
      • Keystone points to a specific Legion Dungeon
      • Power level determines difficulty and reward
      • May have additional modifiers at higher levels
      • Beat the timer, upgrade your stone!
      • Fail, and your stone is depleted, but you still get loot
      • Scales the dungeons up
      • Focuses more on the gameplay, less on rushing
      • New modifiers to master each week
      • Difficulty starts right above Heroic Dungeon level
      • Alternate path to raiding
      • Loot at end of the dungeon
      • Jackpot for highest level cleared each week


Other New Features

  • New Moonkin and Swim Form Models



  • New transmog system
    • Blizzard admits storage space has been an increasing problem
    • New system inspired by Diablo’s system, which unlocks the armor visual when you get the piece
    • The new transmog system will include tabards
  • In-game sight distance is three time longer than previously
  • Scaling zones that allow players to approach zones in the order that they wish
    • Scales the world, not the player
    • Allows players of different levels to play together
    • Itemization also scales with the experience, but not to max level
  • Suramar unlocks at 110
  • Endgame “dailies”
    • Flexible with free-form gameplay
    • Scaling zones allow for endgame gameplay over the entire zone
    • Outdoor world quests, constantly updating and changing
    • Rare quests with better rewards as well as more common, simple quests spawn and have a set time until they change (much like Garrison missions)
    • Includes reputation specific objectives, PvP objectives, world bosses, minigames and profession missions
  • Class Order Hall
    • Emissaries come to your Class Hall to offer quests for their factions, but allow you to select from a number of objectives and stay around for more than a day


BlizzCon 2015 World of Warcraft



Leave a Reply

Get the latest articles and news from BrokenJoysticks and a selection of excellent articles from other sources.

Simply fill out the form below and you’ll be on your way to getting our upcoming newsletter.